Whipped Into Shape

Sorry for the pessimism, but I don’t like New Year’s resolutions.  (Probably because I’ve never been able to keep them.)  In that past, I’ve used them as an excuse to put things off until January.  I’ve also made more New Year’s resolutions than I can count and I can’t think of a single one that I’ve actually kept.

For the last 3 months I have been getting “Whipped Into Shape.”  I stopped hiding under the security blanket of the New Year’s resolution, took advice from Brooke Wyndam, and decided to “work it out!”  I feel as though I’ve accomplished more, personally and professionally, than had I waited around until January.

In the musical Legally Blonde “Whipped Into Shape” is about working out the body, but the lesson is that it takes hard work to accomplish what you want.  Yes, the New Year is a great time to reflect on your past accomplishments, turn to the future, see where you can improve, and set new goals… but you can do this exercise anytime throughout the year.  In fact, I think it is important to constantly reflect, re-evaluate, and re-align personal and professional priorities and goals.

It appears that I am not alone.  A number of my colleagues in higher ed have been getting whipped into shape.  People have changed jobs, started new/exciting projects,  published books, and more.  I can imagine there were no “easy miracles” to any of these endeavors.

In this clip of “Whipped Into Shape” the audience is impressed by 11 women singing and jumping rope in sync, which they’ve been doing for about 4 minutes already.  They make it look so easy.

I hope 2011 is a big year for you.  I hope you accomplish the goals or resolutions you have laid out and don’t forget to periodically reflect on how the year is going.  There is no need to wait until January 2012 to get whipped into shape.

About Mallory Wood

Mallory Wood is a Vermont-based higher ed marketing professional with a passion for social media, web video, and event production. View all posts by Mallory Wood

Leave a Reply

