Winning

Right before turning out the lights Friday night I decided to quickly check twitter.  I saw a tweet that has made me stop and reflect on my personal and professional life for the last 48 hours.

No, it wasn’t from Charlie Sheen. This tweet from Kyle James caught my attention.

Kyle James twitter screenshot

I’m coming off of three weeks where I have clocked over 70 hours/week working on various projects for various jobs or people.  Among other things: I’m tired, I have neglected some relationships, and I haven’t had time to work out as much as I would like.

But I am not complaining. 

I give 110% to everything I do, I put in long hours of hard work, and being busy… well that is what I thrive on. 

I want to be busy.  And dare I admit it, I want to be successful. 

But so do you.

Kyle’s tweet reminded me why I work hard, because I want to achieve success in my career.  His tweet also reminded me that I am not the only one.  There are people in my field working more than me, harder than me, and they want success just as much as I do.

We all want to be “winning,” but we can’t all be winners.  This is a sobering reality.  Great success does not always follow long hours of hard work.  Yet, I don’t think great success can be achieved without long hours of hard work.

So what do we do?  Keep working hard, keep doing our best, and hope that it eventually pays off.

About Mallory Wood

Mallory Wood is a Vermont-based higher ed marketing professional with a passion for social media, web video, and event production. View all posts by Mallory Wood

9 responses to “Winning

  • Nick DeNardis

    Mallory,
    Great post, the content is soo true and I have actually built something like this into my next few presentations. People don’t realize how much work goes into making something successful.

    I was asked “what is the top reason for redesign projects that fail?”, my answer: Not enough hard work.

    It also reminded me of a photo i stumbled across the other day:
    “The future belongs to the few of us still willing to get our hands dirty”
    http://paulisakson.typepad.com/planning/2011/03/actions-dont-lie.html

  • Kevin Prentiss

    What weekend?

    The days where I get tired are balanced with the days where I feel lucky to work on something big. It just takes awhile for it all to even out. It takes patience and a strong belief in future hindsight over my own fatigue induced myopia.

    ———–

    If I should labor through daylight and dark,
    Consecrate, valorous, serious, true,
    Then on the world I may blazon my mark;
    And what if I don’t, and what if I do?

    -Dorothy Parker

  • Georgy

    It’s true. I’m working my ass off on side projects, presentations and speaking engagements, not to mention my actual job. I do it because I love my work, because I want to be successful. I am very ambitious and have significant goal for myself, and I am working hard to attain them.

    That said, I try to live in balance. I am not a fan of the school of thought that says sleep is for the weak, and anything less than a 12-hour work day is slacking. I’m wary of success stories that seem to come at the expense of time with friends and family. I work really hard to make time not only for my loved ones, but for myself and my fitness. Because in the end, work is just one part of life. If you’re doing it right, hopefully, your work is so enjoyable and fun that it can become more fully integrated into your life and not feel like a burden. But it’s still just one thing.

    Ultimately, we all have to strike the balance that makes sense for us and our respective lives. It’s different for everyone. There’s not one recipe for success and there’s not one recipe for balance. But I do believe it is possible to fulfill our ambitions while leading balanced lives.

    • Mallory Wood

      Georgy,

      I am still very much striving to find that balance! But what you say is so true, if you are lucky enough to enjoy your work it really can become seamlessly integrated into the rest of your life.

      And if you ever do find that secret recipe for success, would you mind sharing it?

  • Kyle James

    Mallory (and everyone else) – In ya’ll it’s like “preaching to the choir”. 😉

    It really hit me on Friday I had a busy week and usually I like to slow down on Friday afternoons some. Not this past Friday. I worked from 8AM-7:30PM and the only reason I left then is because I had an 8PM business call that I didn’t want to take in the office. So I went home and took it until 9:45. What a long long day, but afterwords it hit me like I’m sure it hits all of you. We are where we are not because we are smarter than the next person but because we care more and we work harder then them.

    I could easily be back in a previous job working 9-5 but I wouldn’t be half as happy, successful or financially sound as I am now if I were “content” like that.

    I’m glad that others find this revelation as meaningful and powerful as I did.

    @Mallory – Thanks for sharing your story!

  • edwinwright

    Mallory,

    I really enjoyed your post. After reading it, someone from #sxsw tweeted about a must see youtube video from Scott Stratten (@unmarketing). Check it out and find the balance that Georgy talked about.

    Ed @terpowl

  • Travis Brock

    Mallory, EMG and I appreciate all of the hard work and effort put into the work that was done as a judge for the International Brand Master award.

    From what it sounds like, this was only one of many tasks you had on hand lately. As Georgy mentioned, a personal work/life balance is a tricky thing to find
    and keep. I am sure none of us would be working on extra stuff to be successful if we didn’t enjoy it – the silver lining in it all.

    Keep up the good work and I hope things calm down for you soon.

Leave a Reply

