Blogging Basics

Today I have the good fortune of guest lecturing in a Consumer Behavior marketing course at Saint Michael’s College.  Students in the class will be blogging and tweeting all semester.  For many, this is the first time using these social networking tools.

My presentation, “Blogging Basics,” covers information that I think is essential for a new blogger to know and I’ve included examples from some of my favorite blogs (and a clip from the musical Avenue Q) to help deliver the points I make.

What advice would you give a new blogger?  Why do you blog?  (A tough question when you start to think about it!)  Leave a comment and let me know.

About Mallory Wood

Mallory Wood is a Vermont-based higher ed marketing professional with a passion for social media, web video, and event production. View all posts by Mallory Wood

5 responses to “Blogging Basics

  • theheartofthestory

    Hi Mallory, I found your blog via my blog because we both use this technology to teach. For me, it is the capacity to collaborate with and perhaps more importantly to learn together with my students that makes blogging and facebook group pages such wonderful tools for teaching and learning and …. well, for life. Here is a link to my class blogs: I’ve enjoy exploring how you are using the media. One difference we have is I begin with the assumption that students know as much if not more about using social media tools than I do, so I dont provide much instruction on ‘how to’ — so, thanks for this page, I will send the ones who need help here to take a look at your video. Cheers and enjoy. Erika
    http://paterson222.wordpress.com/about/

    • Mallory Wood

      Erika,

      I think there is a big difference between using social media as a tool to connect with friends and using social media as a professional tool. I find that college students are well adept at the former and not the latter. When I worked with online student ambassadors at Saint Michael’s College I spent significant time training students on how to create purposeful content. They often told me they were appreciative of that training.

      The students in the class I went to last week have private twitter accounts, so unfortunately you can’t see the conversation around #bb4smc. However, IRL and on twitter the students commented that they’d never been told “how” to blog effectively, that most of their professors assumed they knew how because of their age, and that the information I provided them would be useful for their future. I’m glad my presentation will be of use to your students as well.

      I think the takeaway is to not assume that people, because they are young and grew up with technology, know how to use social media professionally. I think this is especially true for twitter and blogs.

      Thanks for reading and commenting, I am looking forward to checking out the link you provided!

      Mallory

  • Blogging Basics « Marketing with Mallory | Internet Nut

    […] My presentation, “ Blogging Basics,” covers information that I think is essential for a new blogger to know and I've included examples from some of my favorite blogs (and a clip from the musical Avenue Q) to help deliver the … More: Blogging Basics « Marketing with Mallory […]

  • Inspiration for Facebook tabs from outside .edu (Part 3 of 4) « Marketing with Mallory

    […] often tweeting about how innovative and engaging they are and recently I featured their blog in a guest lecture to a business class at a Vermont […]

Leave a comment